搜索
查看: 1021|回复: 0
打印 上一主题 下一主题

The Japan That Is Depressing

[复制链接]
跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 6-24-2021 14:24:49 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式
Only the first half of the article is interesting.

Mitsuru OBE, The money pushers: The World Is Embracing Japan-Style Economics. Nikkei Asia, June 23, 2021.
https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotligh ... pan-style-economics

Note:
(a)
(i) Mitsuru ŌBE  大辺 暢 (The mitsuru is neither Chinese nor Japanese pronunciation of kanji 暢, but its pronunciation used in names only
(ii) caption of an illustration: "The decades Japan spent experimenting with massive government borrowing and spending offer the world a cautionary tale.   © Illustration by Chuan Ming Ong"
(A) The illustrator's website, www.chuanmingart.com, says, "I am a Dutch illustrator living and working in The Hague, the Netherlands."  His English-language Instagram page shows a middle-aged Asian man, and his Chinese name 王泉明 (no other language).
(B) Ong (surname)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ong_(surname)  
("Ong is a Hokkien romanization of several Chinese surnames: 王, 汪, or 黄 * * * In Singapore, Ong is the fifth-most-common surname among Chinese residents")

(b)
(i) Japanese surnames in this article:
* Arai  荒井
* Kitaguchi  北口
(ii) Japanese-English dictionary:
* gyōmu 業務 【ぎょうむ】(same meanings as in Chinese)
* プロ, pronounced poro, is the first two syllables of professional. Arguably プロ is also the first two syllables of proletarian, Japanese does not have this use.
* chisō 馳走 【ちそう】 (n): "treat; banquet; feast"
* sōzai 惣菜 【そうざい】 (n): "side dish"  (sai, the Chinese pronunciation of 菜, is softened to zai, as the syllable sai is not the first syllable of the term sōzai.